Do fire ants have a queen?

The fire ant queen is the highest ranking member of an ant colony. Not only does she call the shots, but the future of the colony is also dependent upon her survival, as she's the sole member allowed to reproduce. All ants under her rule submit to her commands and work to meet her needs.

---

Fire ant colonies can have a single or multiple queens.