How long do you steep?

Black tea should be steeped in freshly drawn 200-degree water for 3-5 minutes, depending on your taste. If you bring the water to a boil and let it cool for 20 seconds, it will be at about 200 degrees Fahrenheit. Green tea should be steeped at 180 degrees Fahrenheit.