Why do cats rub their face on things?

Cats have multiple scent glands around their face. When they rub their face on something they leave behind their scent to mark it and alert other cats to their presence (called bunting). They also do this as a sign of affection and to pick up the scent of their owner.

---

They're Leaving Scent Marks - like saying this is MINE or I like this! Cats have multiple scent glands on their heads, located around their mouths, chins, sides of the face, neck and ears. The act of a cat rubbing his head on objects is called “bunting.

---

When cats rub against objects, they are transferring their scent. It is almost as if they are claiming ownership and we are one of their belongings. Your cat head-butting or nuzzling your face deposits scent from glands in their cheek area.