Why do cats rub their face on things?

They're Leaving Scent Marks - like saying this is MINE or I like this! Cats have multiple scent glands on their heads, located around their mouths, chins, sides of the face, neck and ears. The act of a cat rubbing his head on objects is called “bunting.

---

When cats rub against objects, they are transferring their scent. It is almost as if they are claiming ownership and we are one of their belongings. Your cat head-butting or nuzzling your face deposits scent from glands in their cheek area.