How do you tell if a watermelon is ready?

The telltale sign that a watermelon is ready to be sliced open is the spot. A good watermelon will have a pale yellow spot on the rind, indicating that it was left on the ground to ripen in the sun. If there's no yellowish marking, be wary. Make sure it's heavy.