When do you know a pineapple is ripe?

A ripe pineapple should have a firm shell but be slightly soft with a bit of give when you squeeze it. You can also use the spiky green top of a pineapple, called the fronds, to check for ripeness. Gently tug on one of the leaves. If it feels loose or comes off, your pineapple is ripe.