Who is doctor smith in lost in space?

Parker Posey, plays Dr. Smith on the Netflix series, Lost in Space. The original 1960's CBS TV series, had actor Jonathan Harris in the original role of DR. Smith. As a nod to the original series, The Netflix version of DR. Smith's actual last name in the show, is shown to really be, Harris.