How many types of energy are there?

The total energy of a system can be subdivided and classified into potential energy, kinetic energy, or combinations of the two. Some forms of energy that an object or system can have as a measurable property include: mechanical, electric, magnetic gravitational, chemical, thermal and nuclear.