How did easter island get its name?

The name "Easter Island" was given by the island's first recorded European visitor, the Dutch explorer Jacob Roggeveen, who encountered it on Easter Sunday (5 April) in 1722, while searching for "Davis Land". The island's official Spanish name, Isla de Pascua, also means "Easter Island".