What is the difference between sherry cooking wine and white cooking wine?

Sherry, though available in both dryer and sweeter forms, is more viscous and syrupier than most white wines. If you're cooking a dessert, this might be a fantastic substitute, but if it's a creamy pasta you're whipping up – sherry is not likely your friend