Why is the strawberry called a strawberry?

No one knows for sure, but it probably comes from "strewn berry" since as the strawberry plant spreads and produces runners, its berries appear strewn about on the ground.

---

There is no consensus on this answer but there are several theories. One theory is that woodland pickers strung them, on pieces of straw to carry them to market. Others believe that the surface of the fruit looks as if it’s embedded with bits of straw.