Is the great barrier reef dead?

Whilst the great barrier reef is not yet dead. Each year it dies more and more. Over half the great barrier reef has died since 2016.

---

In March 2017, the journal Nature published a paper showing that huge sections of an 800-kilometre (500 mi) stretch in the northern part of the reef had died in the course of 2016 due to high water temperatures, an event that the authors put down to the effects of global climate change.