How long does raw chicken breast last in the fridge?

There are many factors to consider when determining if chicken has been in the fridge too long to safely cook it. Trust your sense of smell. If your chicken has a sulphuric or rotten egg smell after rinsing it with cold water, do not eat it! Always cook poultry to 175 degrees to ensure food safety.