Do you capitalize the word principle for school?

The way to spell the person that is in charge of a school is Principal. Remember this by the "pal" at the end being a person. And, if you are addressing the person, for example, "Principal Smith" Yes it would be capitalized. If you are just saying "I spoke to the principal" then no, it would not be.