What does hero of the village mean in minecraft?

Hero of the Village is a status effect that players receive after defeating a raid. A raid is triggered after a Bad Omen effect occurs; a player must kill a pillager captain to obtain the Bad Omen effect. Like all status effects, it can be removed by drinking Milk.