What does r. i. d. d. i. k. u. l. u. s. spell?

The Boggart-Banishing Spell (Riddikulus) was a charm that was used to defeat a Boggart. Boggarts were defeated by laughter, so forcing them to assume an amusing form was the first step to defeating them. Incantation: (ri-di-KULL-lis). Effect: Turns a Boggart into something amusing. Type: Charm