What is beat poetry?

It is poetry written or accompanied by a beat or melody of sorts.

---

Beat Poetry is a form of Poetry that was popular in the 60's during the hippie generation. The rhythm is very staid and conforms to a beat. ... Poets such as Allen Ginsberg and Jack Kerouac were considered Beat Poets and were a the forefront of the movement.