How much does the average train weigh?

A freight train engine can weigh more than two hundred tons. A gondola car carrying ore or coal can weight more than forty tons. A self contained commuter train powered from an overhead electric line can be built from alloy materials to be light. A whole train weighing less than one freight engine.