Who is kamala harris's mother?

Medical scientist Shyamala Gopalan, who passed away in 2009, is Kamala Harris' mother. She was born in Madras, now Chennai, India and won a national singing competition as a teenager. She conducted breakthrough research on the progesterone receptor gene at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.