What is the difference between a vegetable and a fruit?

Technically speaking, a fruit is a plant’s developed ovary that comes from a flower and contains one or multiple seeds. The term vegetable is much broader, as it refers to any part of a plant that’s used for food, including the roots, tubers, stems, and leaves.