Was brigham young a polygamist?

Yes. Brigham Young was the second President of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, and practiced polygamy (the practice of having multiple wives). The Church discontinued the practice of polygamy starting in 1890 and members of the Church (often known as Mormons) do not practice it.