Where does the word grapefruit come from?

The grapefruit was known as the shaddock or shattuck until the nineteenth century.Its current name alludes to clusters of the fruit on the tree,which often appear similar to that of grapes.Botanically,it was not distinguished from the pomelo until the 1830s,when it was given the name Citrus paradisi