How many poisonous snakes are in virginia?

There are three species of venomous snakes in Virginia. The copperhead, the most common, is usually not found inside homes. It may be common in gardens and woodlots. Timber rattlesnakes are common in western and southeastern Virginia. Water moccasins are found to the south and east of Petersburg.