Where does the name ophelia come from?

The name Ophelia is primarily a female name of Greek origin that means Helper. Common nicknames for Ophelia include Oph, Leah, and Lee Lee. Ophelia is most widely known as the female love interest in Shakespeare's play Hamlet.