What makes a cheese shark?

Aging is the only difference between mild and sharp Cheddar cheeses. The longer cheese is aged naturally, the sharper and more pronounced the Cheddar flavor becomes. Mild Cheddar cheese is generally aged for 2 to 3 months, whereas an extra sharp might be aged for as long as a year.