Where does laughter come from?

air from your lungs. But the remarkable thing about laughter is that it occurs unconsciously. You don’t decide to do it. While we can consciously inhibit it, we don’t consciously produce laughter. That’s why it’s very hard to laugh on command or to fake laughter, and everyone knows when it's fake.