How long does plastic take to breakdown?

Plastics can take anywhere from 20 to 500 years to decompose, depending on the material and structure. Single-use plastic grocery bags take about 20 years to break down. In contrast, plastic bottles made with P E T, a common type of plastic, take approximately 450 years to fully break down.