Can i use baking powder instead of baking soda?

Yes, use three times as much baking powder for leavening as the amount the recipe calls for in baking soda. Because of the amount used, there may be a slight bitterness detected in the baked goods, if you are using a brand of baking powder that contains sodium aluminum sulfate.

---

No, they are not interchangeable. Leavening agents are an important part of most cookie recipes. The most commonly used leaveners for cookies are baking powder and baking soda.