What is pandan leaf?

Pandan is a herbaceous tropical plant that grows abundantly in Southeast Asia. The cultivated plant, which is similar to the palm, features upright bright green leaves that are long, slender, and spiky. The leaves are used for their flavor in many Thai and Southeast-Asian dishes.