Why is there such thing as valentine's day?

Isn't it nice to celebrate love and lovers? The celebration is ancient--dating back to the Romans, who celebrated a holiday called Lupercalia on Feb 15. That festival was quite "adult" however and was meant to increase fertility. It changed when Christianity took over the holidays.