Why are people scared of the dark?

One of the likely causes is fear of the unknown. Since humans are not very good at seeing in the dark, we fear what we cannot see.

---

Fear of darkness, which in extreme forms is known as nyctophobia or achluophobia. The reason: It's not the darkness itself that's frightening. It's the fear of what the darkness masks. The dark leaves us vulnerable and exposed, unable to spot any threats that may be lurking nearby.