Why is ray charles blind?

Ray Charles started to lose his sight at the age of four or five, and was blind by the age of seven, apparently as a result of glaucoma.

---

Ray Charles Robinson—began to lose his sight at the age of 5. He was blind by the age of seven, as a result of glaucoma. His right eye was removed due to intense pain.