Are red bananas real?

Red bananas are a real subgroup of bananas from Southeast Asia with red skin. They're soft and have a sweet flavor when ripe. Some people say they taste like a regular banana — but with a hint of raspberry sweetness. They're often used in desserts but pair well with savory dishes, too.