Is okra a useful vegetable?

If you are from Louisiana or Southeastern Texas, I'd say it was--however, if you are from other parts of the USA, it's probably not. It's widely used in Louisiana and Cajun cooking, but not much anywhere else, due to its spiny pods and slimy texture when cooked.