When did pumpkin carving start?

The origin of carving pumpkins stemmed from an Irish folk tale that started in the 17th century, according to Boston.com.

---

Making jack-o'-lanterns at Hallowe'en began in Ireland in the 19th century. They carved turnips and potatoes to scare away Stingy Jack & other evil spirits. The Irish started arriving in America in 1820 where they found pumpkins made excellent jack-o-lanterns.