How do you find mars?

The ecliptic is a line across our sky defined by the sun’s path, rising in the east & setting in the west. All planets in our solar system orbit the sun in roughly the same plane as Earth, which is essentially the same path as the ecliptic. Look for the red dot in the ecliptic path in the night sky.