How is artificial intelligence created?

Intelligence is the ability to reach the correct answer to a given problem. Artificial intelligence is the ability for a computer to reach the correct decision. A computer can be programmed to sense it is dark and turn on a light. A human can sense it is dark but maybe light a candle or a flashlight