What are the two types of digestion?

Mechanical and chemical digestion are the two types of digestion methods. Mechanical digestion is the act of breaking food into smaller pieces, like chewing food with your mouth. Chemical digestion happens in the stomach, and is where food is broken down by enzymes and chemicals.