Is canola oil and olive oil the same thing?

No. While they are both plant based and both are suitable for pan frying and medium-heat cooking, canola oil is better for deep frying and high-heat searing. For dips, dressings, and toppings, extra virgin olive oil is preferable due to its strong flavor.