How long does it take for bleach to disinfect?

The active ingredient in bleach is sodium hypochlorite. To kill germs like viruses, bacteria, and fungi, mix 1 cup of bleach with 5 gallons of water. Scrub it onto the surface you want to disinfect, letting it air dry for 10 minutes before wiping it off. Use caution when using bleach.