How many types of snakes are in florida?

Although 50 species of snakes are found in Florida, only 6 are venomous and a danger to humans. The remaining 44 species are harmless and should be protected for the beneficial role they play in natural ecosytems, eating insects, rodents, rabbits, and other small prey.