How many phobias are there?

There is no definite answer. The number of phobias is constantly evolving since there are an infinite number of specific objects and situations. Clinicians and researchers will create new phobia names as the need arises to label that particular fear.

---

There are more than 400 phobias. You can have a phobia of pretty much anything, but there are over 400 recognised phobias out there! Some, however, are much more common than others.