Did michigan fight in the civil war?

Michigan made a substantial contribution to the Union during the American Civil War. While the state itself was far removed from the combat theaters of the war, Michigan supplied many troops and several generals. When Michigan was asked to supply no more than 1regiment, Governor Austin Blair sent 7.