What is the origin of the expression dead as a doornail?

The term dead as a doornail was used in the 1500s by William Shakespeare. It is thought that the phrase dead as a doornail comes from the securing doornails by bending over the protruding end of the nail and hammering it into the wood. When done, it has been dead nailed, not easily resurrected.