What is a substitute for green chiles?

If you prefer mild green chilies, go with Anaheim, banana or poblano peppers. If you'd like to add a noticeable kick of heat but not overwhelm your dish with too much spice, try using a pasilla, or a green Fresno—red Fresnos are hotter.