What is fiber in food?

Dietary fiber refers to nutrients in the diet that are not digested by gastrointestinal enzymes but still fulfil an important role. Mostly found in vegetables, fruits, whole grains, and legumes, fiber has a host of health benefits, including reducing the risk of heart disease and diabetes.