What is the zelda timeline?

The Zelda Timeline refers to the fictional chronology of The Legend of Zelda series. Though the series began in 1986, Nintendo did not publish a master timeline until Hyrule Historia in 2011. The timeline had previously existed in a highly confidential document conceived as early as 2005.