Where do bugs go in the winter?

Some bugs like Monarch Butterflies migrate south to warmer places. Some bugs burrow under leaves and loose soil to stay protected. Some bugs freeze; their bodies tolerate freezing and will thaw out when it gets warm. Some stay in the egg or larva form until conditions are right to develop.