What's the hardest language to speak?

Despite being one of the most spoken languages in the world, Chinese is one of the hardest languages to learn ranked by the Defense Language Institute. It's a tonal language, has tons of homonyms, makes frequent use of idiomatic expressions, and uses a completely different writing system.