How does a french press coffee machine work?

You pour coffee grounds into a glass cylinder. You pour hot water onto the grounds. Let it simmer for a few moments. Take the press that comes with the cylinder. Push the water down over the grounds. Pour coffee infused water into your preferred container. Drink.