What is baby yoda from star wars?

The child is not baby Yoda. Despite being almost universally touted as Baby Yoda, the adorable little green baby isn’t actually Yoda, it’s just a child of the same species. If you remember, Yoda died in Return of the Jedi, and The Mandalorian takes place 5 years after that film.